Paste text without formatting or kill it with a key sequence

I find it very annoying when you copy-n-paste formatted text in Windows as I very seldom actually want the formatting to come with it, and rather just want the raw text. The process I’ve been using up until now is to first paste the text into notepad, then copy it from there for pasting – not exactly an efficient workflow.

I came across a little single executable tool called PureText which allows you to assign a special key sequence to paste text without the formatting, I use Windows Key+V. The tool is a tiny 13K and just sits quietly in your task tray.

On a similar note – here is a quick way to removing any formatting from text within a Word doc or Outlook e-mail message:

Select the offending text area and hit ctrl + spacebar

Leave a comment